Scribing: the art of visual synthesis

It is said that a picture is worth a thousand words. Based on this premise, scribing now accompanies many seminars and meetings. Its principle? To illustrate the meeting and the ideas produced in real time. An art of synthesis.
James is a happy man: every work meeting turns into an art workshop. "I've been doing this job for about 20 years," says the Londoner, who travels around Europe offering his art to corporate meetings. "My job is to create a visual story that tells the story of the meeting or seminar." James is part of the pool of "scribers" who regularly intervene on the Capgemini Les Fontaines Campus, particularly in the context of Capgemini University meetings.
It's a job that calls on both hemispheres of the brain and a definite ability to focus on two things at once: "at the same time as I listen to the exchanges that are taking place, I stage what has just been said." It's all based on capturing the right key words, expressions that are sure to leave a mark on people's minds.
Between comics, illustration, humor and the seriousness of a visual report, James has honed his style. "I was trained in graphic arts school, and the rest I learned by practicing," he explains. You have to know how to detect what's important, stay in the flow of words."A scribe, then, is a witness who offers his or her point of view as a possible synthesis of a group meeting. "That's why I define myself as a graphic facilitator: participants see in real time what they are talking about, which leads them to focus more on the meeting's objectives. They can then easily recall the key messages delivered in the sessions."
While his art is often done on flip charts, James also practices on entire walls. His largest mural measured ten meters long! "The profession is constantly evolving, we are gradually moving to digital boards, and there will soon be schools to train artists in this profession."
Notice to amateurs...

On dit qu’une image vaut mille mots. Parti de ce postulat, le scribing accompagne désormais de nombreux séminaires et réunions. Son principe ? Illustrer la réunion et les idées produites en temps réel. Un art de la synthèse.

James est un homme heureux : chaque réunion de travail se transforme en atelier d’art. “Je fais ce métier depuis une vingtaine d’années”, explique ce londonien, qui parcourt l’Europe pour offrir son art aux réunions d’entreprise. “Mon travail consiste à créer une histoire visuelle qui raconte le déroulement de la réunion ou du séminaire.” James fait partie du pool de « scribers » qui intervient régulièrement sur le Campus Capgemini Les Fontaines, notamment dans le cadre des réunions de l’Université Capgemini.

C’est un travail qui sollicite les deux hémisphères du cerveau et une capacité certaine de se concentrer sur deux choses à la fois : “en même temps que j’écoute les échanges qui ont lieu, je mets en scène ce qui vient de se dire.” Tout repose sur la captation des bons mots clé, des expressions qui vont assurément marquer les esprits.

Entre la bande dessinée, l’illustration, l’humour et le sérieux d’un rapport visuel, James a peaufiné son style. “J’ai été formé en école d’art graphique, et le reste, je l’ai appris en pratiquant, explique-t-il. Il faut savoir détecter ce qui est important, rester dans le courant des mots.” Un scriber est donc un témoin qui offre son point de vue comme synthèse possible d’une réunion de groupe. “C’est pourquoi je me définis comme un facilitateur graphique: les participants voient en temps réel ce dont ils parlent, ce qui les amène à se concentrer davantage sur les objectifs de la réunion. Ils peuvent ensuite facilement se remémorer les messages-clés délivrés lors des sessions”.

Si son art est souvent réalisé sur paperboard, James exerce aussi sur des murs entiers. Sa plus grosse fresque a mesuré dix mètres de long ! “Le métier évolue sans cesse, on passe progressivement au tableau numérique, et il y aura bientôt des écoles pour former les artistes à ce métier.” Avis aux amateurs…